Suz

• Filed under:
  • | Post Points: 0
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,445
Points 24,075
Debbie replied on Sun, May 26 2013 9:20 AM

just started to post this question when I see a link off to my right.  Yep, I'm a sucker - I bought some of those just last week.  Are the red binder clips better or what do ya'll use?  I'm a novice at the quilting aspect of quilts and need lots of guidance.

"I'm just a poor soul who's intentions are good.   Oh, Lord, Please don't let me be misunderstood."

Debbie (dear1953)  

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 102
Points 1,520

I like the Clover red clips better than the "repurposed" hair clips.  I found that the hair clips stretched the fabric and the Clover clips hold things in place.  I use the red ones for turning bindings all the time.  I also use them when I have bulky things to sew at the machine, when attaching binding to curves, and when sewing pieces cut from strip sets together.  I guess if you have had good success with the hair clips, stick with them because the Clover clips aren't cheap, but I did my comparison when I was given the hair clips after already having the Clover clips...

stitcheraz

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,024
Points 15,645
weezee56 replied on Mon, May 27 2013 8:07 PM

stitcheraz:
I like the Clover red clips

I also bought the Clover red clips, I love mine for the bindings. Before I would use regular pins, I always got a few good pokes before the bindiing was done. With the Clover cilps no more pokes and then really stay in place. I never tried the hair clip type.

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,024
Points 15,645
weezee56 replied on Mon, May 27 2013 8:08 PM

I really like the Clover red clips, they work really good for me.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,443
Points 127,624