Top 10 Posters

How is your quilting space setup?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 45 Replies | 10 Followers

Not Ranked
68 Posts
Points 3,105
kmrchr posted on Sun, Nov 7 2010 7:57 PM

I am pretty new to quilting and one of the hardest things seems to be my setup. I have a tall quilters cutting table which I like but I seem to do a lot of stand up to cut, sit and sew, move to the ironing board, sit to sew, stand to cut, etc... Do any of you have a quilter's workspace that you find meets all your needs without killing your back in the process?

• | Post Points: 155

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,770 Posts
Points 66,013
Suggested by Jeanine

I have options depending on what type of a project I am working on.  I have a tall cutting table that I can layout large cuts of fabric or doing anything that requires more space.  But if I am doing small cutting as part of the quilt I am working on, I keep a small cutting mat, ruler, cutter to the left of my sewing machine.  I also have a large ironing board set up for ironing bigger pieces but if I just need to press seams while piecing, I have a small iron/iron mat set up by my machine.  While piecing a top, I typically do not need to get up.  I don't know if that helps or not but you do need to set up in a way that is comfortable to you.  And I am always reworking by space.  It keeps it interesting.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,720 Posts
Points 436,870
Nana replied on Sun, Nov 7 2010 8:38 PM

Kim