Page 1 of 4 (48 items) 1 2 3 4 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 47 Replies | 7 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 961
Points 11,961
Anita Posted: Wed, Jul 29 2009 9:58 PM

Help!      Hi, I'm new to the Quilting world.   I love learning to quilt.  I have made a few Log Cabin quilts , but I'm not sure about the right color combination.

I'm a little confused about picking the right colors for a quilt.  I see all the beautiful quilts at shows and magazines , but how did the get fabric and the colors just perfect.

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 65
Points 1,610

Welcome aboard,

There are several methods  for getting the right color combination: 1.  buy prepackaged sets  2.  purchase yardage in a "collection", 3.  get a color wheel and learn how to use complementary colors (across from each other), monochromatic colors (shades/hues of one color, and the triad of colors(primary, secondary, etc)  4. look for color combinations in life eg. pansy has purples, black and yellows.... 5.  go with what you like/what your  gut says looks good.  6.  ask for help at a fabric store.

I like to find a print fabric as my focal point.  Then I try to locate fabrics that match the colors in the print. 

If you are concerned about light/dark get the red/green lens to help with intensity of colors.  The patterns will sometimes give you clues too when they list lights, mediums and darks.  If you have light backgrounds with dark design pieces then the dark pieces will "pop" and vice versa.

I know this is a lot in a short time...hope it was useful.  Let me know if you need more info.

Scotts, Michigan (near Kalamazoo)

• | Post Points: 20
Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 465
Points 33,515

Anita, Kathy's advice is good. You can also find all sorts of info on Maria peagler's site. She has written the best book on color I've seen. And has lots of material on her site.

DON'T BE AFRAID of color! And do ask for help at the quilt shop.

~Jodie

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 961